Community First® Award Nominations Now Open

  • January 15, 2021

Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago (FHLBank Chicago) members may submit nominations for the Community First Awards beginning today, January 15. These awards recognize members and their local partners for their work in building and strengthening communities. This year, FHLBank Chicago added three new award categories to recognize extraordinary community development efforts in Illinois and Wisconsin.

The 2021 Community First Award categories are:

  • Affordable Housing

    Recognizes an exceptional effort to increase or strengthen affordable housing opportunities in Illinois and/or Wisconsin communities.

  • Economic Development

    Recognizes an extraordinary effort to foster economic growth or community revitalization in Illinois and/or Wisconsin communities.

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

    Recognizes an organization or coalition dedicated to advancing the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the affordable housing and/or economic development space in Illinois and/or Wisconsin.

  • Emerging Leader
    Recognizes an outstanding emerging leader relatively new to the affordable housing and/or economic development field (defined as fifteen or fewer years).

Read the nomination form for full category descriptions.

Members must submit nominations to by Friday, February 12. Awardees will be featured at the FHLBank Chicago’s virtual member meetings in April and receive $10,000 to direct to a nonprofit of their choosing.

If you have questions, please email

Contact Us

Please direct all media inquiries to:

Casey Reidy 
Director, Communications

Heather Bockstruck
Assistant Director, Communications